my ApoE4 story so far

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
slacker
Contributor
Contributor

my ApoE4 story so far

Post by slacker »

To my ApoE4 tribe;

I learned of my homozygous ApoE4 status in 2011 from a “functional medicine” test described to me as informative about my ability to benefit from statins. Since I had been on almost all prescription statins for high LDL cholesterol for years with great results and without problems, I thought “so what?” On review of labs, I was told this gene also increased my risk for Alzheimers. Since I had no family history of Alzheimers, I though “so what?” Genes are only part of the picture.

Just so you know, I have a degree in electrical engineering (worked for IBM for 12 years), and have worked as a physician assistant in adult primary care for 18 years. I have completed a 2 year Integrative Medicine Fellowship with the University of Arizona in Tucson, a program started by Dr Andrew Weil. So there is really no excuse… :oops:

Fast forward to 2015 when my brother who is 2 years older than me is diagnosed with Alzheimers at age 57. I suddenly recall my ApoE4 status…a heightened awareness begins to develop…

I receive an email from the Institute of Functional Medicine in early 2016 announcing the first Functional Medicine Ground Rounds from Cleveland Clinic’s new Functional Medicine Department - topic Alzheimers, speaker Dr Dale Bredesen. For the first time, something to grab onto, a possibility to prevent or reverse the disease. I immediately signed up for notification of provider training through MCI Cognition and Buck Institute.