I'm 29, 4/4, w/ Lyme and Scleroderma

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
AnnieP
New User
New User

I'm 29, 4/4, w/ Lyme and Scleroderma

Post by AnnieP »

Hi there everyone!

I'm beyond thrilled to find that such a forum exists with other 4/4s and 3/4s! Haha, I know most people probably come to this forum terrified but I've known about my gene for awhile now and have a very knowledgable doc who follows Dr. Gundry's work (it looks like there is a split in the group between who follows his advice and some who believe its hogwash - I respect all opinions though and can't wait to learn more from all of you!)

A little more about me...

I'm 29 years old, married and have 2 little ones (they are 7 and 2). I was a graphic artist at a marketing firm until I had my last sweet baby and decided to stay home. Unfortunately, I had some traumas happen right after that sparked some immune issues. After going through the ringer with different rheumatologists and PCPs - I found one that helped me figure out what was going on. She is a Functional Medicine Doctor and one of her first tests happens to be the ApoE. She told me she can't figure out why people don't do these tests as routine when we're born ;)

Being so inflammed with autoimmune disease is less than ideal with the 4/4 gene... from what I understand, detoxing is not our strong suite! I had a bullseye rash about 7 years ago - had the typical muscle aches, pains, fever, etc and my PCP just said "Ohhh that bite looks BAD!" and when I asked her what it was she just shook her head and said "Oh, yeah sorry, we'll never know." 2 weeks worth of antibiotics and supposedly I would be good... I believed it, I knew nothing of Lyme! 7 years later of bad diets, excessive work stress, bad sleeping, little exercise, and two trauma's - BOOM. Hello Scleroderma!