Bredesen Protocol in Switzerland/Germany

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Awi
Contributor
Contributor

Bredesen Protocol in Switzerland/Germany

Post by Awi »

My name is Andrea, I am a 43-year-old physicist from Switzerland. Dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer's a couple of months ago. My siblings and I had been seeing first sings quite a while before the diagnosis, but mom and that pushed the possible threat of Alzheimer's away and did not get a diagnosis until it was evident. I would say that by now dad is about at stage 4.

I have been researching on the Internet and was very grateful to discover the Bredesen Recode program and other holistic approaches. The frustration came when I tried to find a medical practitioner in Switzerland or Germany that could supervise the program. There are none. Geriatric medicine is just focused on palliating the symptoms, they don't believe in reverse. Even though the results of the first studies of Dr. Bredesen were cited in Swiss newspapers, the swiss Alzheimers association didn't even know who he was. This totally astonished me, because besides of being very beneficial to many patients I also believe focusing on holistic approaches to prevent and reverse Alzheimer's would be a great business model for any medical practitioner. Groups like yours just don't exist in the German-speaking part of the world.

A trip to the US would be very tiring for dad, especially since his English is not very good. Therefore I am considering of attending an Advanced Clinical Training at the Institute for Functional Medicine (https://www.ifm.org/learning-center/act-rcd-2017-dec/), that is also open to family members. This should give me the knowledge to guide a general practitioner through the Bredesen Protocol.

I 'd love to get feedback from you about this idea. Is this reasonable? Does anyone have experience with it?