Hello

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
genec
Contributor
Contributor

Hello

Post by genec »

I was asked to introduce myself, so here goes:

I am heterozygous for E4. My mom, who doesn't want to know her results, is E4/E4. My dad died two years ago from Alzheimers after a fairly rapid decline. He pretty much did everything wrong, he smoked for most of his life, no exercise, *terrible* diet.

I, on the other hand, figured out that I am moderately insulin insensitive and have been on a low carb, mostly vegetarian diet for quite a while now. It made a big improvement on my lipid profile, though my moderately-high LDL levels are intractable and have never responded to anything but statins.

Of potential interest to some, I am a genomics scientist and have been working in biotech/pharma for some 20 years, mostly in the areas of metabolic disease, oncology, and immunology. If you have any questions interpreting a scientific paper, shoot me a copy...

--genec
JML
Support Team
Support Team

Re: Hello

Post by JML »

So nice to know more about you. I'm sorry to hear about your dad, but it sounds like you are trying to make better lifestyle choices for yourself. Your background as a genomics scientist will likely be an asset to this forum!
Julie
Daughter of 4/4
Functional Medicine Certified Health Coach
National Board-Certified Health & Wellness Coach
ReCODE 2.0 Certified Health Coach
SusanJ
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor

Post by SusanJ »

Welcome genec and thank you for your generous off to interpret papers!

So sorry you have had to witness the decline of your dad - my father followed a similar path to dementia so I can both empathize and understand the motivation it provides to not follow his mistakes.
genec wrote:I, on the other hand, figured out that I am moderately insulin insensitive and have been on a low carb, mostly vegetarian diet for quite a while now.