Question about head injuries

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Fractal
Contributor
Contributor

Question about head injuries

Post by Fractal »

Hello all,

I am age 44 and just found out from 23andme results that I am 4/4. This is devastating to me, though it does make sense as AD runs in my family.

When I was a teenager, I was severely injured when a drunk driver hit the car I was riding in. I had a severe TBI and was in a coma for a week. Eventually I defied the odds and recovered, though it took many years, and I am now a special education teacher.

My question is this: does anyone know how much my TBI increases my risk of AD when combined with the 4/4? Does this increase probability of outcome or age of onset or both?
Fractal, 44 and 4/4.
NF52
Support Team
Support Team

Re: Question about head injuries

Post by NF52 »

Hi Fractal,
First, you are proof that "if you've met one person with a history of TBI, you've met one person with a unique TBI." I spent 5 years as the coordinator of a regional center providing training, support and coordination targeted to school districts and families dealing with new, (or often newly-recognized as important) brain injuries. I got to meet wonderful families and kids from the age of infants to high school seniors. I also learned from the work of major researchers who were just beginning to focus on childhood TBI, as well as clinicians at rehab hospitals, speech pathologists, PTs, OTs, neuropsychologists and physiatrists. I especially enjoyed supporting special educators who understood that kids with TBI were different in many ways from kids with other developmental disabilities, especially teens whose sense of self was completely disrupted at a crucial age.

So kudos to you for your recovery! And for deciding to be a special education teacher--the people who make "all kids can learn" a reality.