Just starting out, sending thanks!

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Jordan
Contributor
Contributor

Just starting out, sending thanks!

Post by Jordan »

Hello All -

What a wonderful, welcoming community this is! Just reading your stories and responses feels great!

I'm a novice, for sure. I did 23andme just recently to find out my ApoE status, because of my family history - My mother died at 88 with Alzheimer’s. My father also had late-onset dementia, never officially diagnosed, as did his father. And now, as of 18 months ago, my mother’s 90-year-old sister (I’m very close to her) is in a memory unit with AD. So it was a blow but I wasn't shocked to find that I’m e4/e4. I stared at the result online with a sense of - Ok, now I know what I’m dealing with – which felt better than not knowing.

I’m 69, in pretty good shape, and very much wanting to stay that way! I knew of Dr. Bredesen, so I ordered his book and contacted his office to see if I could find someone near me who’s trained in his work. On the website of the Institute for Functional Medicine, I was incredibly lucky to find a wonderful family practice doc not far from me, who has studied Bredesen’s approach. He fit me into his schedule and I’ve just now finished my first round of lab tests. I'll meet with him again in a couple of weeks to go over results and figure out what’s next. And I’m shifting diet, backing off my bread-baking and liking the avocados!

I have to say, it’s been a godsend to find your online community, with all this lovely support and wisdom. I’ve read Stavia’s great primer and will be going back to it, time and again.