Trying the protocol in advanced alzheimers

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
chrystina3
Contributor
Contributor

Trying the protocol in advanced alzheimers

Post by chrystina3 »

Hi all. I did the Bredesen training in December and could not stop thinking about trying it on my mom, who is 95 and pretty advanced in her dementia, which I believe is a type III Alzheimer's. I am a physician (internist). The thought of trying the protocol with her just did not leave me even though it was not the rational thing to do, considering her age and stage of dementia. At first I tried to initiate 3-4 supplements while she was in her care home but they were less than enthusiastic and ultimately stopped giving them to her. So I arranged to take time off work to have her here at my home and do the protocol. It's been about 3 weeks and I am struggling to get the supplements in her. I make her a shake every morning with 1/2 dose of the supplements--it's in powder form for the most part and comes to about 1/2 cup of powder, which is why I can only do 1/2 dose, then I add the vitamin E, DHA/EPA, etc that is not in powder form. She should have a second shake in the afternoon/evening for her second "dose" but she can never tolerate it/keep it down, though she does fine with it in the AM. I am considering possibly trying a smaller shake with 1/4 of the dose of supplements, four times a day...maybe she would tolerate that better, but it would likely leave little room for other food so I will need to include real food in the shake like nuts, vegetables, etc...