The Big Macronutrient Question: Low-Fat, or High-Fat?

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Walker44
Contributor
Contributor

The Big Macronutrient Question: Low-Fat, or High-Fat?

Post by Walker44 »

Hey. :) This is my first time posting. 6'3'', 146lbs, 24-yo e4/e4 male here; when I found out I was e4/e4 a few months ago I immediately began working to adopt the best diet and lifestlye I could. To go on a little tangent before getting to the question in the title of this post - what I've done so far is...

I exercise daily (run for an hour a day; walk avidly), have cut processed carbohydrates from my diet; the carbohydrate-heavy foods that I now eat are veggies, fruits, whole grains, legumes, undercooked/raw sweet potatoes, and whole pseudo-cereals like buckwheat and quinoa; I get my fats primarily from low-saturated fat nuts and seeds and avocados; and I feed via a modified alternate-day-fasting regimen: I eat <10% of my calories on my "fasting" days, and >90% of my calories on "feeding" days. On feeding days, I eat about 5500cal throughout the day, and am finished eating before 8:00pm. On fasting days, I eat one 500cal meal at 8:00pm.

I feel like I've done a lot to improve my health, but one big question is still looming overhead: as an e4 carrier, should I be eating a low-fat diet, or a high-fat diet? I've dug through endless studies via google scholar and can't seem to find any definitive studies on e4 carriers with large sample sizes, so - unless I'm missing something big - it seems like this question is still basically unanswered in the literature.