APOE4 Retest

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Rubrobben
Contributor
Contributor

APOE4 Retest

Post by Rubrobben »

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this wonderful site and have soooooo many questions!
First and foremost... I received my APOE4 (2 copies) from 23andMe in June of 2018. Since then I’ve been doing as much research as I can. Started on the Mind Diet and now looking into the ReCODE protocol. (Yikes! Having a hard time thinking of anything else!)
My question for now is whether or not I should retest the results using another service before I do anything else?

Thanks for being here!

Bobbie
Plumster
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor

Re: APOE4 Retest

Post by Plumster »

Welcome, Bobbie!

I think I'd only retest if I suspected it might be wrong -- if I had no family history of Alzheimer's, for example.
e3/4 MTHFR C677T/A1298C COMT V158M++ COMT H62H++ MTRR A66G ++ HLA DR
TheresaB
Mod
Mod

Post by TheresaB »

Rubrobben wrote:My question for now is whether or not I should retest the results using another service before I do anything else?
I think the only one who can answer the question of retesting or not is you, if there’s something in the back of your head that says you need to retest, then you probably need to retest.