How many of us 4/4 are out there?

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Lulitamae
New User
New User

How many of us 4/4 are out there?

Post by Lulitamae »

Hi, brand new to all this. Wondering how many of us, blessed with the 4/4, are out there? Are we a large existing group that I am new to or is this a growing membership thanks to genetic testing? Meeting a neurologist in a few days. So far no signs, but want to get a baseline now in case life goes off the rails. Thanks and hugs to all my 4/4 companions.
Lucy5
Contributor
Contributor

Re: How many of us 4/4 are out there?

Post by Lucy5 »

Hello Lulitamae and welcome to our E4 family!

Your question is an excellent one and probably one of the first we 4/4's ask (and yes..I am a member of the club!). My understanding is that most estimates of ApoE4/4 frequency among those with European ancestry is in the neighborhood of 2.2-2.6%. Estimates vary a bit for other regions (somewhat lower in Asia, for example). And yes, as you suggested, the E4 "membership" awareness has increased dramatically with genetic testing. No doubt about it!

I can see you have a great attitude and are moving forward decisively to learn more about our gene and what it means for you specifically. As you've just joined the group and may not have had a chance to browse our site Primer as yet, we highly recommend it as a great place to start. It was written by a member physician, Stavia (also a 4/4), and is a wonderful resource to learn more about this gene along with effective, prioritized lifestyle strategies to maintain health. Our Wiki offers additional discussions on topics of interest to our members and our Wiki How-To-Guide may help you navigate the site more easily.