Lifespan of apoe4

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Newtothis3/4
Contributor
Contributor

Lifespan of apoe4

Post by Newtothis3/4 »

I saw a post similar to my question but I would like to reopen the topic. Is the general concensus that an e3/E4 or E4/E4 carrier is most likely going to have a shorter lifespan regardless of acquisition of AD? Are we just predetermined to live a shorter lifespan? Does an e3/E4 statistically live longer than an E4/E4 or is it the same? Before I found out my status, I presumed as a 42 year old who takes care of his health, that I was going to make it to at least 100. Now, I feel that I’ll be lucky to make it 80 something intact. Also, what is the feeling from this site with science and medicine in terms of therapy for us apoe4s will be in 20-30 years? I’m aware it’s all speculation but I’m curious. I am a newbie who is dealing with GAD before I even knew my results and this has been such a hard few months for me mentally.
Tincup
Mod
Mod

Re: Lifespan of apoe4

Post by Tincup »

Statistics don't really mean anything to an individual. There is a poster here with a 3/4 mother who is, if I recall correctly, 99 and still mentally intact. Again, if memory serves, she said her mom routinely did 4 or 5 day fasts. When mom hit 90, the daughter told her mom she was too old to fast. Then the daughter ended up here and realized that maybe the reason mom was doing so well was that she fasted. Mom would also not eat much if she knew she was going to a party, to compensate. In any case, she let mom return to fasting.

We have a member who is 79 or 80 and 4/4 who is intact and doing well.

My goal is to do the best I can and try to have health span approximate lifespan, whatever that turns out to be.
Tincup
E3,E4
Newtothis3/4
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Newtothis3/4 »

Is it considered fasting if you don’t eat at least 12 hours a day?
NF52
Support Team
Support Team

Post by NF52 »