Newbie Here in San Diego

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
BarbLore1
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie Here in San Diego

Post by BarbLore1 »

I'm 55 years old, watched my father pass of AD five years ago. He was intelligent, spoke three languages, physically fit and active socially and spiritually, so it was quite a shock. When I look back at his/our diet over the years, I see where there may have been some contributing factors in that regard. About three years ago I started having a lot of cognitive difficulties with speech and following conversations. I heard of myriad of things such as "just cause your dad had AD doesn't mean you have it." "It's just normal aging." These were comments from health care personnel as well as friends. My doctor said it was because I was retired and not active enough and because i wasn't social enough etc. Long story, so similar to others, I got some intense blood work done and also a volumetric MRI. Things are looking pretty good. Only a little ischemia in brain, everything else healthy and as far as blood work, I tested positive for the 3/4 marker. I honestly believe with supplements, diet and exercise i will be okay. I'm already pretty athletic and will find it no problem to embrace a plant based diet. I've experimented with Keto but it is actually not good for my type 3/4 and with my cholesterol issues. I know what to do, I know I can do it and it will be a lot of work but not that big of a deal and I'm so glad this forum exists. I was really hunting for some recipes, and just ordered Isaacson's book but if there is a recipe forum on here I'd love that. Sautéing, broiling, veggies, steaming and eating salads is beginning to get old and I generally lack creativity in that area anyway. Thanks. I'd like to attend a SD meet up if it happens.
Creekside
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Newbie Here in San Diego

Post by Creekside »