New member in Australia

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Spiderman68
Contributor
Contributor

New member in Australia

Post by Spiderman68 »

Hi there

New 3/4 here from Australia. Age 51. I had genetic testing done through 23andme some years ago - back when your report used to tell you whether you had wet or dry earwax and whether you were likely to be able to smell asparagus in your urine. I remember that the testing said I had a higher than average chance of getting Alzheimer’s but never thought too much about it. In the past couple years I have noticed my memory getting a bit sticky. I Seem to have difficulty in remembering names. I might be unable to recall a name, think of it a few minutes later and then forget it again a minute of two later. I am also concerned that my vocabulary seems to be reducing. I am a lawyer so these issues are a real concern. I think I must have tried every supplement on iherb over the past couple of years but nothing seems to have helped these issues. Finally a couple of weeks ago I downloaded my raw data off 23andme and ordered a comprehensive report from Foundmyfitness.com. That was when I actually became aware of my APOE status. However what really dismayed me is that I seem to have a number of other polymorphisms that also increase my Alzheimer’s risk. I have polymorphisms on IL-6 and MTNR1A. I am also homozygous for variant alleles on the MTHFR gene which I presume means that my ability to methylate is quite impaired and I may have elevated homocysteine. The advice on Foundmyfitness appears to suggest increasing betaine/choline intake to lower homocysteine unfortunately I also have two T nucleotides on my PEMT gene and one G on my MTRR which both appear to impair the cholinergenic pathway. So I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by all this information. I am not sure if my current memory issues are related to my APOE4 or maybe just directly relate to my reduced methyl