Greetings!

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Charlie65
Contributor
Contributor

Greetings!

Post by Charlie65 »

I have been off work for a month, and have been looking at thousands of YouTube videos. I am a lawyer (estate planning and elder law), have a BS in Physics, and worked in medical research for several years. I have always been interested in nutrition and supplements since reading Pearson and Shaw's Life Extension as well as a book by Linus Pauling.

In my mid 30s I developed an extreme sensitivity to MSG (glutamate). For about a year I thought I had a neurological problem such as MS. I went through a lot of testing, but nothing was found. Eventually, I realized that Ramen Noodles, etc. were really messing me up as well as most restaurant food. I went to the ER once after a Chinese dinner and I have had stroke like loss of vision and numbness several times after eating restaurant food. I am not as sensitive lately, but still cannot, for example, eat mushrooms which contain high amounts of glutamate - that is why they make food taste so good. What helped me at the time was avoiding as much processed food as possible. I also adopted the zone diet, which at the time was considered very high fat and high protein. The idea was that evening out sugar levels would be protective for the neurons as they can pump out the excess glutamate if not hypoglycemic. I also have been doing quite a bit of fish oil most of the time as well as quite a few vitamins. The main antidote that has helped me with glutamate is taking taurine. I will sometimes take that before a meal if I am concerned about it. I am not sure how being in ketosis would affect my sensitivity.

One other sensitivity that I noticed is that for a while I took a low dose of resveratrol without any problem, but when I went to a higher dose I got arthritis-like pain in my finger joints. It went away relatively quickly after stopping.