Different Effects from Aerobic vs Anaerobic Exercise

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
WhatNext
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor

Different Effects from Aerobic vs Anaerobic Exercise

Post by WhatNext »

About 5 months ago my son and daughter-in-law gave me their cast-off Schwinn stationary bike, having bought a new Pelaton. I’ve been doing two 30-minute workouts per week on it (when I can). This is in addition to my 40-minute weight-lifting workout, which I do 3x/week (when I can). I do about 20 minutes of easy yoga (stretching/balance) before I lift. I’ve been doing the yoga/lifting for a little over 10 years.

The workout I do on the bike – same workout every time – is a pre-programmed “cross-fit” workout: it’s a tough work-out for me. The only setting I specify is the distance I want to go, which I set to 7 miles. It works out to about 28 minutes plus a couple of minutes of easy cool-down at the end. Most of the workout is divided roughly into 1-mile segments, alternating easy and hard, starting with a half-mile easy segment and a including a tough 1.5-mile highest-resistance (highest of the workout, not highest possible on the bike) segment about 2/3 of the way through.

I don’t lift and ride the bike on the same day: I alternate, roughly. I’ve noticed that the effects of the two workouts on my mood/sense of well-being are very different. Lifting weights always lifts my spirits. If I’m feeling blah and don’t want to do it I know that’s when I need it the most: I talk myself into it and it always helps. The effect kicks in during the workout and lasts for the rest of the day. If something was making me sad, e.g., I realize it was the perspective I was putting on it or assumptions I was making: the sadness is gone.