Website suggestion to improve discussion cohesion

Vision, strategy, service, and activism. Web and social media planning and technical discussion.
Roamingseer
Contributor
Contributor

Website suggestion to improve discussion cohesion

Post by Roamingseer »

On other social networks, one can add a @ symbol before their screen name & the system can notify them that a specific person (again screen name) addressed them. This would be very useful. Thanks. G
slacker
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Website suggestion to improve discussion cohesion

Post by slacker »

Roamingseer wrote:On other social networks, one can add a @ symbol before their screen name & the system can notify them that a specific person (again screen name) addressed them. This would be very useful. Thanks. G
I'm not an expert on the technology used to support our website, but I suspect the the @ symbol is not supported or else we'd be using it. ;)

If you use the quote icon to respond to a post, the member you are quoting is notified that you have addressed them (as I have done with your post). Hope this helps.
Slacker
E4/E4
CarrieS
Contributor
Contributor

Post by CarrieS »

Another way to be notified when people comment on a thread is to click on the "wrench" tool on the bottom of the page to the right of "Post Reply". Click on the "arrow" and then click on "Subscribe Topic". You will then get an email notification when someone posts in the thread. It's not for a specific person but may be close to what you are wanting to achieve.
APOe4/4
Functional Medicine Certified Health Coach
National Board Certified Health & Wellness Coach
Certificate for Reversing Cognitive Decline for Coaches (FMCA)
Certified Fermentationist
Roamingseer
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Roamingseer »

@Slacker, to me the quotes add nothing but extra text to the discuusion, causing more pages for each topic. If you want to address a specific concern, simply copy that portion of the original text and put it in quotes.