Recently learned I am heterozygous for APOE-e4 - Now what?

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
bulldog99
Contributor
Contributor

Recently learned I am heterozygous for APOE-e4 - Now what?

Post by bulldog99 »

Good morning. I’m new to the message board but not really new to the site. I’ve been reading as much as I can about AD and dementia since my mother and her mother both suffered horribly and passed away as a result of AD. My grandmother wasn’t diagnosed until well into her 70s (she was extremely active) and lived into her 90s. My mother was diagnosed much earlier (in her mid/late 60s) and passed away at 72. The progression of her disease was shockingly rapid and severe.

As for me, I’ll be 52 next week and have three children (a son 26, a daughter almost 3 1/2 and a son almost 2, oh and my wife is 13 weeks pregnant). I am generally physically fit but have noticed over the years an enormous increase in what I’ll call memory-failing moments and word-swapping moments. That and knowing that I very much take after my mom physically prompted me to go to 23andme and get tested. Well my results came back yesterday and through Promethease I learned, no real surprise to me, that I am heterozygous for APOE-e4. My biggest question is, what is the first thing I should do with this information? I know from reading your site, especially the wonderful Getting Started primer by Stavia, that, very generally, I need to change my diet, consider supplements, exercise much more than I currently do and get more sleep among other things. And I have already embarked on making lifestyle changes. But should I seek out a doctor who specializes in AD or other neurological deficiencies? Should I see a cardiologist? Are there other tests I should insist upon from my family doctor? Should I load up on life and LTC insurance before I’m unable to qualify? Any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated.
Julie G
Mod
Mod