Dairy Reduction - Simple Question

A primer for newbies and old pros alike.
Robhypno
Contributor
Contributor

Dairy Reduction - Simple Question

Post by Robhypno »

This maybe a silly question about dairy Reduction or complete avoidance

I'm very new to Dr Bredesen protocol and have had great results by eliminating gluten and going full keto. All my bloods so far have been great. Anecdotal results have been amazing

However, I get slightly confused about Bredesen protocol regarding dairy. Here's the silly question

Reduction in Milk, ie lactose OR All dairy?

I'm trying to reduce my animal protein intake in general. I use cream, butter and dripping as well as coconut oil and olive oil as my fats

I've get lots of contradictions also when reading Dr Grundy diet suggestions

Thanks for advice
Julie G
Mod
Mod

Re: Dairy Reduction - Simple Question

Post by Julie G »

However, I get slightly confused about Bredesen protocol regarding dairy. Here's the silly question

Reduction in Milk, ie lactose OR All dairy?
Not a silly question at all. Dr. Bredesen recommends strictly limiting dairy to just small amounts from A2 dairy to reduce the inflammatory effect. A2 milk lacks most of the β-casein proteins found in A1, responsible for many of the negative health effects. Some people, who are particularly sensitive, still can't tolerate A2 dairy. Most dairy is from cows who exclusively produce A1 milk, but you can find plain cow's milk from A2 cows, labelled "A2." Goat, sheep, yak, and camel all produce exclusively A2 milk. You can also enjoy small amounts of cheese, yogurt or kefir from these animals.
floramaria
Support Team
Support Team

Post by floramaria »

Also , when you are in the mood for a splurge, French cheese. I originally thought all European dairy was A2 but on further research learned it is only France. Below is a quote from one of the many online websites that discusses A1 and A2 dairy.