A primer for newbies and old pros alike.
roger_runkle
New User
New User

Post by roger_runkle »

I am on the edge of panic!!! Over the past 2 years my wife has been developing AD. I didn't recognize it; I thought her changes in behavior were meerly ordinary aging changes. In January 2020 she began wandering, entering neighbor's houses, etc. In the first week of June 2020 I put her in a board and care home. Michelle (Mickey) is 70 years old; physically in great shape. I go to see her twice a day; in the morning we walk 1100 yards, 7 days a week. In the afternoon we are just together. I am 87 years old. My computor skills are marginal. Is there a ApoE4 support group in Los Angeles? This is my very first attempt to get help. Mickey and I have had a great marriage and a great life. The Lord has been very generous to us. It breaks my heart to see Mickey go out like this. Thank You, juliegee
Julie G
Mod
Mod

Re: New Member

Post by Julie G »

I'm so sorry that you're suddenly facing this, my friend. Cognitive decline is often insidious, the changes can be very subtle... until one day it's impossible to ignore. If you want to try to help Mickey, you have a few options. You are very welcome to engage with our community and try to apply a DIY version of Dr. Bredesen's protocol OR you can consider seeking help directly from Dr. Bredesen's group. Learn more here. The former option will require a tremendous amount of time and education, whereas the latter will provide immediate, guided assistance. Best of luck to you and Mickey.
carrie
Contributor
Contributor

Post by carrie »