Partner found out she's 4/4 - she's OK with it, I'm not

A primer for newbies and old pros alike.
AlB
New User
New User

Partner found out she's 4/4 - she's OK with it, I'm not

Post by AlB »

Hello, Newbie here.

about 6 months ago my wife (50) undertook a genealogical DNA test, and 'ticked the box' about other medical aspects, of course curious about various family members who have had cardiovascular problems, but with no family history of Alzheimers I think she never thought for a second that this would be an outcome.

I should stress, I don't blame her for this in any way, it simply wasn't a consequence she foresaw.

Of course, the results came back confirming that she is E4/E4. After a bit of initial confusion and reading, she is fairly blase about it.

I (47) however am a natural worrier with a history of depression and anxiety, and lost my grandmother to Alzheimer's, and have been really struggling with the knowledge. It's hard to explain the complexity of my emotions, but I think I am going through anticipatory Grief, almost mourning, not my wife, but the future I saw for us, if that makes sense?

My parents are baby boomers, and fit and healthy, so in my mind I could very easily be looking at loosing them, and my wife at around the point I should be retiring. And facing that period we all look forward to alone.

I am not sleeping well, have recurring bad dreams I KNOW relate to these fears, but also feel it is not easy to discuss this with my wife, as I know she already feels awful at the consequences of the results she inadvertently brought into our lives. As I say, I don't blame her, and don't want her to feel more guilt than she does for the suffering she knows I'm going through (though I admit I am bottling a lot of it up for that reason, and yes, I know that doesn't help)