Fasting Issues

A primer for newbies and old pros alike.
JimH
Contributor
Contributor

Fasting Issues

Post by JimH »

Hi all,

Fasting has always been an issue for me. When I was a teacher for Detroit Integral Yoga Institute back in the 1970's I was able to do some fasting for a day or two. Now, I seem to go hypoglycemic when I try fasting. I get tired and my *brain gets sluggish*. I've had problems with my adrenal glands since I had rheumatic fever at age 5. I've improved quite a bit but still need to watch my stress levels.

On my days off, it's not too hard to delay breakfast until I've gone 12 hours. One problem is that, some nights my blood sugar drops to the point that my cortisol or other adrenal hormones get triggered and I can't get back to sleep unless I eat a couple or pecans or macadamia nuts.

For ApoE4 folks, which is better, fasting or sleeping? The idea or going 16 hours, basically skipping breakfast, on days I'm treating patients seems like a bad move for me. Does it work to get some small Keto snacks during that 16 hours? Things like MCT oil or macadamia nuts?

I've been on a Paleo type diet with no sugar, no lactose, no grains or high carbohydrate foods like potatoes since 2005. I haven't eaten any of the foods Dr. Bredesen says to avoid (with the exception of home-made, lactose extracted by the formative bacteria yogurt) for around the same time period. I really want this to work because I'm quite frustrated with difficulty coming up with names and terminology every 2-3 sentences but I need some help making fasting work.

Thanks for reading,

Jim
Julie G
Mod
Mod

Re: Fasting Issues

Post by Julie G »