Forrests, Trees, and Saturated Fat

Alzheimer's, cardiovascular, and other chronic diseases; biomarkers, lifestyle, supplements, drugs, and health care.
naughtyferret
Contributor
Contributor

Forrests, Trees, and Saturated Fat

Post by naughtyferret »

Hi All -

A brief introduction - i'm a recent member of the forum, lurking for a few weeks, taking in all the knowledge, and running myself in circles trying to learn as much about APOE as possible. I'm a 4/4 with a family history on both sides, all dead in their 60's/70s. joy. I'm also a nutritional therapy student currently writing a paper (due nov 7) on dietary and lifestyle intervention for ApoE4. (yes, i did get to choose the topic, and the more i read and supposedly 'learn' the more i'm starting to regret not choosing something simple like CVD).

In short - for a week i've spent 8-12 hours/day learning everything i never thought i'd need to know about fat metabolism, cholesterol, insulin resistance, inflammation, etc... I feel like i've been running in circles, getting nowhere, and now i'm starting to panic as i've got 10k words due in less than 3 weeks and not a single one written!

This has been my go-to resource for simple explanations of complex topics. It does sometimes take a bit of patience to get through 60+pages of posts to find an answer, but there always seems to be fabulous tangents along with way.

In an effort to ease my pain i thought it might be a better use of my time to post my greatest burning question that i just can't seem to answer for all the reading in teh world....

If carbs/insulin/etc. isn't so great for a 4/4 (causing inflammation and all), and fat is better, i've got it in my head that saturated fat bad for 4/4 and i just can't figure out why. I think i'm probably staring the answer in the face, but i've just been at it so long and I'm so turned around, I just can't see the forrest for the trees.