Lipids & Sat Fat Question

Alzheimer's, cardiovascular, and other chronic diseases; biomarkers, lifestyle, supplements, drugs, and health care.
mb00
Contributor
Contributor

Lipids & Sat Fat Question

Post by mb00 »

Hello - As recently posted in my intro I'm a newbie here on the forum who's an Apoe3/4. I've been doing some digging on this site as well as listening to Peter Attia's podcasts which are a wealth of information but often fly way over my head and had several questions. Thank you all in advance for this wonderful forum!

1) With regards to the concern of Saturated Fat (which I know is not settled and I tend to eat a decent amount). Is the concern purely from the cardiovascular side? IE if one has great lipid and lipoprotein markers would it be safe to say that the concern from Saturated Fat would be removed? Or does Saturated Fat have other mechanisms by which us APOE 4s need to be concerned about with regards to AD.

2) On the lipids side from what I've heard from Attia's podcasts the main items to be concerned about at LDL-P, ApoB, Trigs, and some inflammation markers such as oxLDL. From my understanding LDL-P and Apo B should track very closely to each other and are oftentimes used interchangeably by Dr. Attia to evaluate atherogenic risk. However, in some of my recent labs the two have diverged quite a bit with my Apo B at 80 mg/dL and LDL-P at 1348 nmol/L. Was wondering which if any do people here give preference to.

3) Lastly, I had a question regarding desmosterol. I found a discussion from 2015 on this board that had Julie, stavia, russ, and plenty others discussing a Dr. Dayspring lecture about it. As evidenced below I have optimal sterol absorption markets, but incredibly high sterol syntheisis markers and was wondering what if anything I should be doing about this. I've read that high desmosterol and desmosterol ratio is actually good for cognition but at these levels am I running other risks?
lab.pdf