How do I confirm APOE status.

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Berri
Contributor
Contributor

How do I confirm APOE status.

Post by Berri »

I need some advice. I was scrolling through my data on Foundmyfitness when I saw this:

APOE rs4420638(A;G) Likely apoe4 carrier This genotype usually indicates a match for APOE4 status, however, it relies on a proxy SNP (an rs4420638(G) allele) that is not a perfect indicator of APOE status. It may be worth validating
independently by alternate means.

So my question is: How do I validate independently without spending a lot more money?
Also, I'm told that I am "probably APOE2/APOE4" It's all so indefinite. I know I need to keep up with dietary improvements anyway but I'm not good with IFs.

Thanks for any tips,

Berri
TheBrain
Contributor
Contributor

Re: How do I confirm APOE status.

Post by TheBrain »

Do you have your data through 23&me? If so, I recently typed up instructions for a friend who wanted to know her ApoE status. I could copy that here. The instructions use the 23&me web site.
ApoE 4/4 - When I was in 7th grade, my fellow students in history class called me "The Brain" because I had such a memory for detail. I excelled at memorization and aced tests. This childhood memory helps me cope!
floramaria
Support Team
Support Team

Post by floramaria »

Berri wrote:I need some advice. I was scrolling through my data on Foundmyfitness when I saw this:

APOE rs4420638(A;G) Likely apoe4 carrier This genotype usually indicates a match for APOE4 status, however, it relies on a proxy SNP (an rs4420638(G) allele) that is not a perfect indicator of APOE status. It may be worth validating
independently by alternate means.

So my question is: How do I validate independently without spending a lot more money?