Hello! I have some burning questions for the ApoE4ers...

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
DaveKeto
Contributor
Contributor

Hello! I have some burning questions for the ApoE4ers...

Post by DaveKeto »

Hi guys —

I’m a 3/4. There’s really no way to introduce myself and share my numbers without telling a pretty long story. Probably the best shortened version is — I have extremely high cholesterol numbers after going on a low carb diet, did a lot (and still doing) a lot of research, then started (and still am doing) a very controlled, very detailed N=1 experiment.

As an engineer I saw a familiar network model pattern with the lipid system and started testing against it with my own blood. Since November last year I’ve had 17 NMRs and am now very familiar with the pattern.

Thus, I’m not so much here for advice/support as much as it is research for these final stages before I release my data. If I could ask a few questions to the wonderful members here:

— Are there a high frequency of people here who go on a low carb diet and are 3/4 or 4/4 that had “normal” cholesterol before starting, and very high once into the diet?

— Are there people here who have chosen not to go on cholesterol lowing drugs or other measures long term and report back a dramatic jump in their cIMT, CAC, or other associated risk of CVD? (Again, only in the context of low carb)

— Other than heart disease, what else would be considered a higher risk for someone with ApoE4 who is also on a low carb diet?

Thanks so much in advance!
Julie G
Mod
Mod

Re: Hello! I have some burning questions for the ApoE4ers...

Post by Julie G »

Welcome Dave. Wow- seventeen NMRs in such a short period! I look forward to seeing your data whenever you're ready to release it. I'm quite curious to see if it dovetails with patterns we see here.