New Here

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
GemmaJ
Contributor
Contributor

New Here

Post by GemmaJ »

Hello Everyone,

I'm not sure how this works and I'm really not sure where to start. I'm also a bit worried I might have broken a rule and put this in the wrong place - If so, I'm sorry - I'm completely new to any kind of forum.

I found out two weeks ago that I am an APOE 4/4 carrier. I deliberately sent off my saliva sample at my sister's suggestion as she had recently done a DNA test for dietary reasons and had discovered that she was APOE 4/3. Our mother is 69 and very quickly descended in AD over the last few years ...but that's another story. So it was really to keep her company that I had the test done. I definitely expected to be 4/3 like my sister as my Dad is 80, fit as a fiddle and with a brain in full working order. We assumed he wasn't an APOE 4 carrier. Turns out we were wrong.

Initially I found the news really hard to take. I'm an English teacher (British national who now works in a British School in Spain) and I stupidly opened the report in school. I wasn't interested in any of the other genes, I just scrolled down until I saw the red alert and APOE 4/4. I was reeling as I had read a lot up beforehand on the APOE 4 allele and knew what this meant and obviously had my mum right there in my head.