A whirlwind week of discovery

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Hiker_gal
Contributor
Contributor

A whirlwind week of discovery

Post by Hiker_gal »

I couldn't believe it took so long to get my 23andMe results. The DNA extraction phase lasted almost a month (geeze, I could have done it faster myself!), so it was with excitement that last Monday I saw I had the email saying my results were ready. At work, I logged on and briefly scanned the results. No surprises in my ancestry, no red flags on the carrier status, above average Neanderthal DNA. What's those info boxes I need to click through to get to Parkinson's and Alzheimer's results? click, click, yada yada..OH! I have two copies of the APOE4 gene. Says I am at an increased risk. Well, sometimes those increased risks are barely significant, so I will just put APOE4 into PubMed, and take a look. As I work as a research scientist in a pharmaceutical co, I have full access to most scientific publications. Lucky me. I download a review by Liu et al (2013). This does not, by any means, give me the reassurance I was looking for, and does the exact opposite. All this before my second cup of coffee on a Monday morning.
For the past week I and my husband (PhD biochemist) have read, digested, and discussed a heap of material. From the initial shock and sense of doom, we have arrived at a conclusion that my APOE4/4 status means I have a lipid processing disorder that can have implications for cardiovascular and brain health. However, risk of disease can be mitigated by diet and exercise. I hope we are right.