Adult son is 4/4

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
caat
Contributor
Contributor

Adult son is 4/4

Post by caat »

Hi, I’m a newbie at this forum. My son has his DNA tested and is 4/4 apoe4. Hmmmmm....I know what this means but what does it actually means for his brother and sister who won’t get tested? And what does this indicates for us, his parents. We donated him our DNA so does that indicates that we also have, ar least 1 APOE4 gene? My half sister died from early onset AD and there’s a lot of Diabetes, strokes and heart failure on my part of the family. I read that this gene will transfer glucose a lot faster to the brains with this gene than without APOE4. I’m on a LCHF diet myself because I feel better with it. Forgive me my English, it’s not my language from origin.

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
MicheleCC
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Adult son is 4/4

Post by MicheleCC »

caat wrote:Hi, I’m a newbie at this forum. My son has his DNA tested and is 4/4 apoe4. Hmmmmm....I know what this means but what does it actually means for his brother and sister who won’t get tested? And what does this indicates for us, his parents. We donated him our DNA so does that indicates that we also have, ar least 1 APOE4 gene? My half sister died from early onset AD and there’s a lot of Diabetes, strokes and heart failure on my part of the family. I read that this gene will transfer glucose a lot faster to the brains with this gene than without APOE4. I’m on a LCHF diet myself because I feel better with it. Forgive me my English, it’s not my language from origin.